LF your Power Aura Strings

All things /script related

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, _Chloe

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Nikachelle » Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:12 am

guillex wrote:When I first read this part, I thought you said "and I'll tell you how you want to be told". I got a little excited. But if it does that, then I'll STILL be excited!


:lol: Reading what you WANT to read eh? :P

The addon *seems* light to me, but if I'm honest, I doubt I'd notice anything much unless it crashed my system continuously.

I just think it's a really beautiful addon. It's stopped me from having to look at my buffs and timers on cooldown quite a bit. I was always pretty good at watching my surroundings, but this has helped me be even better. (Particularly when I try to ret dps because I find I end up staring at my bars far too much.)
User avatar
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 8400
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby fafhrd » Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:14 pm

guillex wrote:Is it light, though?


I've never actually noticed any FPS difference from running it, I remember being pretty surprised about that when I first got it, given that it displayed graphics in a way no mod had done before. If you turn on CPU profiling though it seems to be a non-trivial portion of your WoW mod CPU load. This probably has a lot to do with how many auras you set up (you can set up over a hundred at once I think, triggering on all kinds of different events), which it needs to check for activation. Mods like scrolling combat text have usually more visible influence on my FPS in game.

As for light in terms of screen clutter, it's only as intrusive as you make it, since you control everything it displays to you, so there shouldn't really be any "it's nice but I don't like how it looks" problems.
ImageImage
1/1 Lore pre-nerf.
User avatar
fafhrd
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 2:31 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby guillex » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:13 am

So I just installed it last night, and kinda got it to work (on my own) for BoM.

I'd like to ask a couple of questions though:

A) How did you change the layout, Nikachelle? I'm talking having the solid lines instead of textures.

B) Is it recommended to make two strings, one to check for mounted, and one to check if you're not? Or is it just better to check if you're not mounted, and keep it at that?
Póg mo thóin
Image
User avatar
guillex
Moderator
 
Posts: 5201
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:32 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Nikachelle » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:25 am

guillex wrote:So I just installed it last night, and kinda got it to work (on my own) for BoM.

I'd like to ask a couple of questions though:

A) How did you change the layout, Nikachelle? I'm talking having the solid lines instead of textures.

B) Is it recommended to make two strings, one to check for mounted, and one to check if you're not? Or is it just better to check if you're not mounted, and keep it at that?


The "solid" lines are already pre-built in graphics. They just look like ( ) in game. It took a lot of sliding through the graphics to find them because I wanted something simple.

I have mine disabled when I'm mounted. Not sure what you're asking for there.
User avatar
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 8400
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby guillex » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:39 am

Nikachelle wrote:
guillex wrote:So I just installed it last night, and kinda got it to work (on my own) for BoM.

I'd like to ask a couple of questions though:

A) How did you change the layout, Nikachelle? I'm talking having the solid lines instead of textures.

B) Is it recommended to make two strings, one to check for mounted, and one to check if you're not? Or is it just better to check if you're not mounted, and keep it at that?


The "solid" lines are already pre-built in graphics. They just look like ( ) in game. It took a lot of sliding through the graphics to find them because I wanted something simple.

I have mine disabled when I'm mounted. Not sure what you're asking for there.


Just wondering if there's a way to have it enabled, in one string, all the time, whether you're mounted or not... Although, thinking about it, I think that'd get a little annoying.
Póg mo thóin
Image
User avatar
guillex
Moderator
 
Posts: 5201
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:32 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Smacker » Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:09 am

WARNING!

I can see that some of the exports were produced by my updated version (currently in beta), as it exports timer settings which the original does not (the original has not been updated in 8 months)

My version is here:

http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info14291-PowerAurasClassic.html#info

and adds lots of new features (like proper mounted/dismounted setting logic). Here you can get a response from me on any technical issues.

There is also a wiki:

http://powerauras.wikispaces.com/

Which could be a place to store exports
Smacker
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:37 am

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Fogy » Wed Nov 04, 2009 3:13 pm

Fogy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:05 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Fogy » Wed Nov 04, 2009 4:23 pm

Any trick to getting text auras to show? I know you have to get out and trigger a spell for the icon, but my text aura test isn't working.

Fixed.
Last edited by Fogy on Fri Dec 11, 2009 12:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fogy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:05 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Nikachelle » Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:43 pm

Need a little help for my friend. He's trying to set it up for his boomkin so that the two different types of Eclipses show up. We HAVE the spell IDs (Wrath damage increase = 48517Starfire crit increase = 48518) but it doesn't seem to be working. Squawk and Awe isn't an option. I'm hoping somebody else has configured Power Auras for this and can just give me their strings.

Thanks!
User avatar
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 8400
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby steadypal » Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:48 pm

hmm can anybody help me with a string i can paste into my imports that would tell me if my target has 3 of the spider frenzy buffs?
steadypal
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 12:28 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby fafhrd » Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:16 pm

Nikachelle wrote:Need a little help for my friend. He's trying to set it up for his boomkin so that the two different types of Eclipses show up. We HAVE the spell IDs (Wrath damage increase = 48517Starfire crit increase = 48518) but it doesn't seem to be working. Squawk and Awe isn't an option. I'm hoping somebody else has configured Power Auras for this and can just give me their strings.

Thanks!


The latest version of PA that I have doesn't support identifying buffs by spell ID (or if it does, it's not documented anywhere I've seen), just by name, which as you've probably run into doesn't help when 2 buffs have the same name. Google for an updated version with that feature maybe? If not, editing PA to support spell ID's probably wouldn't be too hard.

If there is some secondary effect that you can use to distinguish between the procs (like some other spell always being on cooldown at times when you get one of the procs, but not on the other), you can make 4 auras, one for the secondary effect being on, one for the secondary effect being off, 2 for the eclipse procs, and then link those last 2 to the first 2.
ImageImage
1/1 Lore pre-nerf.
User avatar
fafhrd
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 2:31 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby stormknight » Sat Dec 05, 2009 11:30 am

is it possible to make this?
Check Blessing of Might and Greater Blessing of Might and if both is not on character then show animation,event etc, so its like if else control, is it possible?
Image

Est Sularus Oth Mithas
User avatar
stormknight
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:03 am

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby fuzzygeek » Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:02 pm

stormknight wrote:is it possible to make this?
Check Blessing of Might and Greater Blessing of Might and if both is not on character then show animation,event etc, so its like if else control, is it possible?


Do a check for "Blessing of Might", "Show when not active," and it'll trigger for either blessing (conditions trigger on substrings as well)
Image
User avatar
fuzzygeek
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 3447
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:58 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby fafhrd » Mon Dec 07, 2009 6:16 pm

stormknight wrote:is it possible to make this?
Check Blessing of Might and Greater Blessing of Might and if both is not on character then show animation,event etc, so its like if else control, is it possible?


Make aura, set it to check for the buff name: "Blessing of Might/Greater Blessing of Might" (the / means or, you might as well stick battle shout in there as well)

Check the box that says something like "show when not active"
ImageImage
1/1 Lore pre-nerf.
User avatar
fafhrd
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 2:31 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Fogy » Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:32 am

fafhrd wrote:
stormknight wrote:is it possible to make this?
Check Blessing of Might and Greater Blessing of Might and if both is not on character then show animation,event etc, so its like if else control, is it possible?


Make aura, set it to check for the buff name: "Blessing of Might/Greater Blessing of Might" (the / means or, you might as well stick battle shout in there as well)

Check the box that says something like "show when not active"



As a pally I just check for "Blessings". Covers whatever I may have on at the time. :P
Fogy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:05 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby grunk » Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:03 pm

Hi ,
i'm trying to display the vengeance stack on my target but i can't get it work :(
Did someone have an export of his config to manage this ?

Thanks ;)
grunk
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:56 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Nikachelle » Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:16 pm

You have debuff on target and stack=5 selected right?
User avatar
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 8400
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby grunk » Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:33 pm

This is my config :
Image

Interface is in french but it's mostly the same thing in english.
"Vengeance Sacrée" is the exact name of the debuff on the target
grunk
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:56 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Nikachelle » Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:40 pm

I can't see the image because it's on imageshack. What I *think* I can make out on the very tiny button thing is that you have stacks set to >5, when it should be =5. (Since Vengeance can't stack greater than 5, you'll never get it to announce that way). Do you want it to tell you when you reach max stacks? Or do you want it to tell you your stacks as they increase? If you wanted incremental ones, I think you'd need to set up five different auras. (ie, yellow colour icon for one stack, blue colour icon for two stack, etc.)

Unfortunately, I can't make the rest of the stuff out. But it should be identified when you're in combat, on an enemy, etc.
User avatar
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 8400
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby grunk » Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:58 pm

Nikachelle wrote:I can't see the image because it's on imageshack. What I *think* I can make out on the very tiny button thing is that you have stacks set to >5, when it should be =5. (Since Vengeance can't stack greater than 5, you'll never get it to announce that way). Do you want it to tell you when you reach max stacks? Or do you want it to tell you your stacks as they increase? If you wanted incremental ones, I think you'd need to set up five different auras. (ie, yellow colour icon for one stack, blue colour icon for two stack, etc.)

Unfortunately, I can't make the rest of the stuff out. But it should be identified when you're in combat, on an enemy, etc.


On this one, the stack is set to >0. I have 4 others , with stack set to >1,>2 ...
So I want to display on texture for each stack
If it can help, you can see the image here
grunk
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:56 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Nikachelle » Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:03 pm

Okay, set it to "In Combat" and set to "Cast by me". Then go test it on a dummy. Trying toggling off the resting one as well.
User avatar
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 8400
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby lorgalis76 » Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:10 am

Nikachelle wrote:Need a little help for my friend. He's trying to set it up for his boomkin so that the two different types of Eclipses show up. We HAVE the spell IDs (Wrath damage increase = 48517Starfire crit increase = 48518) but it doesn't seem to be working. Squawk and Awe isn't an option. I'm hoping somebody else has configured Power Auras for this and can just give me their strings.

Thanks!


I have this set up on my alt Boomkin. You can use the following: Ability_Druid_Eclipse for Lunar Eclipse (starfire spam) and Ability_Druid_EclipseOrange for Solar Eclipse (wrath spam). I hope this helps your friend out. :)
If you still need the strings I can post them later on today when I get home.
lorgalis76
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:02 am

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Nikachelle » Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:14 am

lorgalis76 wrote:
Nikachelle wrote:Need a little help for my friend. He's trying to set it up for his boomkin so that the two different types of Eclipses show up. We HAVE the spell IDs (Wrath damage increase = 48517Starfire crit increase = 48518) but it doesn't seem to be working. Squawk and Awe isn't an option. I'm hoping somebody else has configured Power Auras for this and can just give me their strings.

Thanks!


I have this set up on my alt Boomkin. You can use the following: Ability_Druid_Eclipse for Lunar Eclipse (starfire spam) and Ability_Druid_EclipseOrange for Solar Eclipse (wrath spam). I hope this helps your friend out. :)
If you still need the strings I can post them later on today when I get home.

If I could get the strings, that would be fantastic. Thank you for your help. :)

Additionally... does anyone have one for Earth Shield tracking on your focused target? I want to know either when it falls off my focus, or, another variant, it'll tell me how many stacks are remaining on my focused target.
User avatar
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 8400
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby fafhrd » Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:59 pm

Coming back to this thread, Nika, the latest Power Auras Classic on curse has 2 useful things that I think would work for your disambiguation between two "eclipse" buffs question:

a. you can apparently enter the spell ID instead of the buff name, like "[32678]" instead of "Some Uber Buff"

b. there is an additional box for "and the buff's tooltip contains the following text"

I haven't actually had to make an aura using either feature, but they sound like they'd do what you wanted.
ImageImage
1/1 Lore pre-nerf.
User avatar
fafhrd
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 2:31 pm

Re: LF your Power Aura Strings

Postby Nikachelle » Wed Dec 30, 2009 2:01 pm

Ooo the tooltip one is useful. I wonder which version I'm using. I thought I upgraded with 3.3.
User avatar
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 8400
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

PreviousNext

Return to Add-ons, UI, and Macros

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 380 on Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:28 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest