TankadinTps - a threat analyzer

All things /script related

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, _Chloe

Postby Balsimar » Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:17 am

You know what sold me on this mod? I tried it out last night, and it showed me that I was doing an average of 1,856 tps over 105 seconds on Essence of Anger.

Try getting that from a WWS report, which doesn't split the essences up into individual entities. In fact, this even splits mobs of the same name into individual entities.

Excellent addon,10/10 will use again.

(for the record, I am aware that the "2.4" beta version wws reports split the essences properly, but try pasting that into a tps parser and see what you get. )

Edit: If I may make a feature request, a "Report to raid" option that output the name of the mob, length of the fight & average TPS could be nice. Guildies wanted to see my threat on EoA last night, and the c/p from the report window was quite ugly, since it didn't retain formatting.
Last edited by Balsimar on Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Balsimar
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 3:11 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA

Postby Afraithe » Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:43 am

Sarkan-ZdC wrote:How is this relevant?

Well.. we all use Omen. Just for our DD so they know when to stop Damage or use Aggro relevant spells (feign death, soul shatter and so on)

So, I think this is a fact, right?

So I have on my hand a 1,83 kb big addon that gives a short print out of my TPS using Omen, which is (in my eyes) the leading TPS addon. On the other hand we have a complete combatlog parser which parses my combatlog (needs cpu power/ram) to give me the same number (+/-10) and a (very nice) summary for improvement.


Wha? Why would we care if you have memory problems? I have 4gb RAM and enough CPU to run 4 WoW at the same time, don't really care about addon size at all, again a completely irrelevant point for most ppl with computers from this century.

It is an analyzer, with history and lots of other possibilities.
Image
Afraithe
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:21 am

Postby Gamingdevil » Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:51 am

Afraithe wrote:It is an analyzer, with history and lots of other possibilities.


That's mean...I can't help it :cry:
If it is weak, kill it before it gets stronger. If it is strong, weaken it.
Image
User avatar
Gamingdevil
 
Posts: 1267
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:16 am
Location: Belgium

Postby jere » Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:58 am

Zappi wrote:
@jere it doesn't take any encounter specific stuff into account. You can pause the time / threat record manually, if you want. I think those few seconds of immunity at Najentus are not a big deal. And if you don't do any threat at all, the addon stops all timers after 5 seconds (it assumes another boss phase)


Yep, sorry for the confusion. That is what I meant though. You are able to take encounter specific stuff into account with this addon (the pause feature). Sorry, didn't mean to make it sound automatic. Still, this is much nicer than a WWS would provided if you make use of the pause feature.
Image
User avatar
jere
 
Posts: 2396
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 5:12 pm

Postby Sarkan-ZdC » Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:59 am

Afraithe wrote:Wha? Why would we care if you have memory problems? I have 4gb RAM and enough CPU to run 4 WoW at the same time, don't really care about addon size at all, again a completely irrelevant point for most ppl with computers from this century.

It is an analyzer, with history and lots of other possibilities.


I have 4 GB RAM and 2 Grafikcards, so what? I run WoW at extremly high settings (you know the macro where you can unlock extra stuff to show?) and even with my high-end pc I have only about 40-70 FPS.

Of course I could use lower settings, but why?

The thing is, you don't care, but I do care. I ask does it help me. And a anwer like I don't care is not helping at all.

But hey, just for you: after this, I'm not going to use it. Have fun with that addon.
Sarkan-ZdC
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 4:00 am

Postby Korbah » Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:27 pm

Just because this addon might not be useful for you, doesn't mean that it won't be useful for others.

This looks like an interesting addon, I'll have to try it out sometime.
Korbah
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 5:10 pm

Postby Aleph » Sat Jun 07, 2008 10:12 pm

This addon is exactly what I've been looking for. Great job, thank you! I hope you will continue to fix bugs and improve it.
Aleph
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 8:08 pm

Postby roguearthur » Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:15 pm

Question, I just got this mod, and on fubar, it shows, but when i fight nothing happens.. Do I need to be in a group?
roguearthur
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:01 pm

Postby Aleph » Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:43 pm

After I save a particular "report" if I log out it disappears. Is there anyway to have it save them between sessions? Also, it seems I can only save one report at a time - any way to save more than one?
Aleph
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 8:08 pm

Postby Zappi » Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:19 am

@roguearthur if you don't play with your paladin, the addon does nothing.

@Aleph thank you, I've uploaded a new version (0.5) this minute. It should be available in approx. 1 hour at curse



@all Please use Bugsack & BugGrabber and check for some errors, if something does not work as expected
Zappi
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:14 pm

Postby roguearthur » Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:19 am

Zappi wrote:@roguearthur if you don't play with your paladin, the addon does nothing.

@Aleph thank you, I've uploaded a new version (0.5) this minute. It should be available in approx. 1 hour at curse



@all Please use Bugsack & BugGrabber and check for some errors, if something does not work as expected


I'm on my paladin. do i need anything else to make this work? I have omen and ktm and they both are working, even the addon for tankadin staple is working, just not tankadinTPS.
roguearthur
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:01 pm

Postby Zappi » Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:31 am

try this:

/run TtpsPaladin:TestModifier()

You should see something in your chatframe.

Are you running Bugsack and Buggrabber? They would be helpful...
Zappi
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:14 pm

Postby roguearthur » Sat Jun 14, 2008 12:06 pm

weird, I got it working, I just redownloaded it. thank you :D
roguearthur
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:01 pm

Postby Zappi » Sat Jun 14, 2008 12:20 pm

You should take version 0.5, it fixes a bug with saving fights.

The file is still queued by curse and needs "approval", they are incredible slow :(
Zappi
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:14 pm

Postby Galrond » Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:13 pm

Afraithe wrote:Wha? Why would we care if you have memory problems? I have 4gb RAM and enough CPU to run 4 WoW at the same time, don't really care about addon size at all, again a completely irrelevant point for most ppl with computers from this century.


As a consumer, you may be able to afford to have that attitude.

However, don't criticize other consumers for having other attitudes. A developer who wants his creation to be used by as many people as possible REALLY can't afford to have that kind of attitude. This is why blizzard is doing so well; they make products that don't need the latest and greatest hardware. Some people can't afford to buy a state-of-the-art computer every 3 months.

If it's possible to make this mod more cpu/RAM efficient, by all means do so. It'll mean more players can benefit from the mod.

Now, my question is: Is it possible to reset the state of the mod? I accidentally disabled TankadinTPS under its minimap menu and now I can't get it back at all. I've tried reinstalling the mod, I've tried removing the associated files from the WTF folder, and it won't budge. The minimap button doesn't want to come back.
Image
User avatar
Galrond
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:22 pm

Postby Zappi » Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:41 am

Galrond wrote:As a consumer, you may be able to afford to have that attitude.

However, don't criticize other consumers for having other attitudes. A developer who wants his creation to be used by as many people as possible REALLY can't afford to have that kind of attitude.


Afraithe has nothing to do with this addon, can't see why some people blame me for his posts ...

Try this, to enable your addon:
/run TankadinTps:ToggleMinimapAttached()
Zappi
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:14 pm

Postby Afraithe » Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:28 pm

Galrond wrote:As a consumer, you may be able to afford to have that attitude.

However, don't criticize other consumers for having other attitudes. A developer who wants his creation to be used by as many people as possible REALLY can't afford to have that kind of attitude. This is why blizzard is doing so well; they make products that don't need the latest and greatest hardware. Some people can't afford to buy a state-of-the-art computer every 3 months.

If it's possible to make this mod more cpu/RAM efficient, by all means do so. It'll mean more players can benefit from the mod.


I think you are missing the point, unless you have a really ancient computer (that has problems running wow at all), the memory usage is not even a problem. It's is more what those addons do with the memory, some addons can have a slow effect even tho they use almost no memory, and the other way around.

The only way to know this is by trail and error (unless you want to check every addons code base), and from my experience, this addon is already efficient.
Image
Afraithe
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:21 am

Postby Pelendralaar » Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:09 am

I really like this tool a lot it allows me to see what is happening after the fact.

For example I was tanking Kara for badges and on prince was only getting 800ish tps and I didnt understand why it was so low. After reviewing the TPS report it shows that not a single consecrate tick hit prince! I was so embarressed.

Also i use it to compair TPS reports on bosses from week to week to look at differences in my TPS and try to figure out the difference. I like to use that in conjunction with WWS as well to get an understanding of the buffs and debuffs may be causing that.

Keep up the good work!
Image
User avatar
Pelendralaar
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:30 pm

Postby Zappi » Mon Jul 07, 2008 6:24 am

UPDATE

Give this tool to your tank mates, they can use it to!
I need feedback from druids and warriors ... oh and does anybody know the threat from Thunderfury?TF was nerfed in 2.0.10 ...

Changelog 0.8:
- bugfix: handles defstance properly
- bugfix: nil in TtpsClass

Changelog 0.7:
- new: module for warriors
- new: export data to other players / your guild / raid
- new: tool for testing threat values
- bugfix: lacerate dot/damage

Changelog 0.6:
- new: module for druids
- new: records misses etc.
Zappi
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:14 pm

Postby Zappi » Sat Jul 26, 2008 4:33 am

*update*

some bugfixes, nothing new :(
Zappi
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:14 pm

Postby Zappi » Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:37 am

Version 1.0 released

1.0:
- new: records incoming damage
- new: records hits
- new: 2nd window (compare two fights)
- new: leaves beta status :)
- bugfix: nil while using devastate
Zappi
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:14 pm

Postby Mithos » Tue Sep 02, 2008 9:19 pm

wow, how did I ever miss this o.O will download!
Image
Mithos
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:54 am

Postby Hexzon » Wed Sep 17, 2008 6:12 pm

Just a question does this mod, only check TPS when u are tanking.

Is that even possible?

Most other tps mods or reports from WWS are from the overall fight so they are only accurate when u tank the whole fight.

Is it possible to pause the mod when u are not tanking or anything like that?
Hexzon
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 9:31 pm

Postby Zappi » Thu Sep 18, 2008 1:51 am

it pauses automatically, if you do nothing for 5 seconds, but you can do this manually too
Zappi
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:14 pm

Postby Hexzon » Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:37 pm

nice so i can use it on multi tank fights win
Hexzon
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 9:31 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Add-ons, UI, and Macros

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 380 on Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:28 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest