Remove Advertisements

I phail at UI

All things /script related

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, _Chloe

I phail at UI

Postby honorshammer » Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:07 am

This is my UI:

Image

I need serious help. I can barely see the game anymore. Is there anyone who has a step by step guide to setting up a nice clean functional UI for a Paladin tank?
User avatar
honorshammer
Moderator
 
Posts: 2147
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Charleston, SC

Postby Vanifae » Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:15 am

What is your resolution?
This is why I'm a humorless feminist. Because rape jokes killed my sense of humor.
Minnerva wrote:if you act like a jerk then we push you away unless when born the girl got slapped around by her father.
User avatar
Vanifae
 
Posts: 7123
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 12:36 am

Postby Igrado » Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:17 am

what van said. also, scale down your UI, i believe its under video options, near the top.
Image
User avatar
Igrado
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 868
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:47 am
Location: VA, USA

Postby SmurfZG » Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:18 am

step 1: go to video options
step 2: click the box that says "Use ui scale"
step 3: pull the slider to the far left
step 4: look for the Resolution drop down box in the top left corner
step 5: click it, and choose the option furthest down the list
step 6: click Okay
step 7: make sure your game doesn't lag too much, if it doesn't, skip ahead to step 9, else, go on to step 8
step 8: get a better computer, or relevant parts to upgrade your computer, alternatively; fix your computer in some other way.
step 9: ????
step 10: profit
Last edited by SmurfZG on Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:33 am, edited 2 times in total.
Image
SmurfZG
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:51 am

Postby Afraithe » Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:29 am

Bongos!
Image
Afraithe
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:21 am

Postby guillex » Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:49 am

And uhm ... put something else other than attack in your #1 slot ... :)
Póg mo thóin
Image
User avatar
guillex
Moderator
 
Posts: 7490
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:32 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Postby Zhalseran » Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:50 am

UI scale is probably the best thing you can do. Default UI size is rediculously huge. After that, the more stuff you can shove in the corners the better. In general, the neater you can make things the more screen space you will have.

I play with 1280x1024 and the scale slider almost all the way to the left.
User avatar
Zhalseran
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:18 pm

Postby guillex » Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:13 pm

Now, a question on that ... Does the UI slider also affect mods/addons?
Póg mo thóin
Image
User avatar
guillex
Moderator
 
Posts: 7490
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:32 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Postby Warrender » Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:16 pm

Guillex wrote:Now, a question on that ... Does the UI slider also affect mods/addons?


Yes, UI means all mods/addons not just the default ones.
Image
User avatar
Warrender
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 1257
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:35 am

Postby _Chloe » Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:41 pm

O M F G....

you actually play? how? and do you have a character under all that mess?

/headexplode
User avatar
_Chloe
Moderator
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:36 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA

Postby Garov » Fri Dec 14, 2007 2:07 pm

1st thing I see is that buff window. I'd drop that immediately. That shit intrudes way too much on your central viewing area. I stopped using CT_Mod the first time they included that in their version. I'd remove that buff_mod folder immediately and use the default buffs.

Set your SCT to display info in different areas. I have stuff like incoming damage on the left side, incoming heals on the right, and status effects/odd things appear in the middle. I took that trick from this site and it made a huge visual difference. Cleared alot of the 'traffic' from my screen.

Slide PP frames right up against the wow bars on the right. make them touch. It's only a slight movement but it might look like it clears alot more room.

Whatever party frames you're using scale down your buffs. Could probably completely remove buffs from your target of target frame as well.

I have the same thing in my #1 key on my bars. My pally was the only class I felt I needed this button so far. I constantly use it to get my shield out instead of pressing the default equip button.

The biggest offender is really those vertical buff listings. That's got to go!

Imo
Last edited by Garov on Fri Dec 14, 2007 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Garov
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 7:19 am

Postby honorshammer » Fri Dec 14, 2007 2:10 pm

Vanifae wrote:What is your resolution?


1024x768
User avatar
honorshammer
Moderator
 
Posts: 2147
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Charleston, SC

Postby Invisusira » Fri Dec 14, 2007 2:12 pm

Honorshammer wrote:
Vanifae wrote:What is your resolution?


1024x768

D=

With all THAT?!?
User avatar
Invisusira
Moderator
 
Posts: 9021
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 6:23 pm
Location: alt-tabbed

Postby honorshammer » Fri Dec 14, 2007 2:38 pm

Invisusira wrote:
Honorshammer wrote:
Vanifae wrote:What is your resolution?


1024x768

D=

With all THAT?!?


Ergo the reason for the existance of said thread.
User avatar
honorshammer
Moderator
 
Posts: 2147
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Charleston, SC

Postby lusisia » Mon Dec 17, 2007 12:27 pm

Honorshammer wrote:
Invisusira wrote:
Honorshammer wrote:
Vanifae wrote:What is your resolution?


1024x768

D=

With all THAT?!?


Ergo the reason for the existance of said thread.


My first suggestion would be to get something like Aperture or CT_Viewport. Change the drawable play area some from the bottom so that you can shove the minimap and a few other things down there and not cover up the play area.

I would switch to Bongos (or bartender as some use) to move and scale certain bars down. Autobars would really help with consumables too.

At least you're using Grid which helps a boatload. You can disable the titlebars on ELK to save a little space and it can be scaled down as well.

I might suggest investing in setting Parrot up combat text as it can aggregate events quite nicely.

Here's a link to various screenshots I've taken. My UI has changed quite a bit as I've gotten used to relocated elements. I try to change just one thing at a time. Moving my unit frame, target and targets target to the bottom was really hard for me to get used to but it really help in moving OTHER things around.

http://dev.lusis.org/tmp/

http://dev.lusis.org/tmp/fighting.jpg <-- shows the agregation from Parrot.

There's some AV screenshots in there as well:

http://dev.lusis.org/tmp/AV/
"then somehow people manage not to see the forty fucking foot tall of fucking fiery flames of fucking doom ... and we wipe." - Isolfr
"It turns out that a large number of people are whiny motherfuckers ..." - PsiVen
User avatar
lusisia
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA. US

Next

Return to Add-ons, UI, and Macros

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Remove Advertisements

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 380 on Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:28 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest