Remove Advertisements

3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

All things /script related

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, _Chloe

3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby Dianora » Tue Mar 24, 2009 2:49 pm

With the new Blizzard addon policy that will see the demise of Outfitter (long live Outfitter) and the introduction of in-game gearset switching and dual spec, here's some sample macro for doing gear switch:

#showtooltip Protection
/equipset Protection
/usetalents 1

#showtooltip Retribution
/equipset Retribution
/usetalents 2

The first macro is for me using the first talent set, provided that I've created a gear set Protection (case sensitive). 2nd macro is for my Retribution talent set and Retribution gear set. You can add whatever icon you want, and put 'em on 2 of your spare action bar.
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Dianora
 
Posts: 1831
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby KysenMurrin » Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:05 pm

I'll definately be using this come 3.1. It's a tiny bit cumbersome having to open talents and character sheet to do this on any kind of regular basis (about on par with having to open the spellbook every time you want to use a profession - I've not had to do it since getting Bartender and setting up a paged bar just for them).

Though mine will be Prot/Holy. ;)
I don't play WoW any more.
Donnan - Nangun - Kysen - Kysen - Mardun - Timkins

Mostly-Book Blog.
KysenMurrin
 
Posts: 6809
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 6:37 am
Location: UK

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby Dianora » Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:17 pm

When I test this out in PTR, it seemed to have problem switching from 2 1 hander to a 2 hander. I'll see what's stopping it.
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Dianora
 
Posts: 1831
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby Gamingdevil » Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:43 am

It's too bad they don't allow to add external hotkeys to the Gear Manager, like Itemrack does, that you have to put it on your action bars.
If it is weak, kill it before it gets stronger. If it is strong, weaken it.
Image
User avatar
Gamingdevil
 
Posts: 1738
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:16 am
Location: Belgium

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby Dianora » Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:11 pm

Verify that I can switch gear in instance (use Violet Hold for testing) and Battleground (Warsong Gulch). I don't have arena team in PTR, but I'm sured that it won't work in Arena.

So the restriction on talent switching is:

Not in Combat
Standing (not swimming, not mounted)
Not in Arena
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Dianora
 
Posts: 1831
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby Dianora » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:26 pm

Equipment Manager will not go live in 3.1. It would seem that the problem I've listed (problem properly changing from a 2 Hander to sword/shield) is one of the reason why this thing is not going live.
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Dianora
 
Posts: 1831
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby Necrolite » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:39 pm

Dianora wrote:Equipment Manager will not go live in 3.1. It would seem that the problem I've listed (problem properly changing from a 2 Hander to sword/shield) is one of the reason why this thing is not going live.

awww that sucks a bit. still, would rather it works and be late than not work and be in 3.1
Image
Necrolite
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 9:35 am

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby Vindicated » Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:24 am

Dianora wrote:Equipment Manager will not go live in 3.1. It would seem that the problem I've listed (problem properly changing from a 2 Hander to sword/shield) is one of the reason why this thing is not going live.




And outfitter is going to be borked with no fix? WHAT EVER WILL WE DO
Image
User avatar
Vindicated
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 5:40 am

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby Eleveneleven » Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:15 am

Is there a /command for swapping gear in ItemRack? Manually clicking the icon to swap gear works but it would be nice to have gear and spec on the same button.
Eleveneleven
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:37 am

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby Racerover » Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:26 am

Vindicated wrote:
Dianora wrote:Equipment Manager will not go live in 3.1. It would seem that the problem I've listed (problem properly changing from a 2 Hander to sword/shield) is one of the reason why this thing is not going live.




And outfitter is going to be borked with no fix? WHAT EVER WILL WE DO


My outfitter still works fine... /shrug.
User avatar
Racerover
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:24 pm

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby Doktah » Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:53 am

The author has released a new outfitter I believe. They decided to continue developing the addon according to Curse.
Doktah
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 4:00 pm

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby d503 » Wed May 20, 2009 1:22 pm

Anyone test this in LIVE 3.1.2?
User avatar
d503
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:31 pm
Location: Northern California, US

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby KysenMurrin » Wed May 20, 2009 1:50 pm

Haven't tested the particular ones in this thread yet, but I can confirm that the modifiers [spec:1] and [spec:2] work in macros; they could probably be used to make the above into a single one-click macro.

Edit: Tested. The following works:

/equipset [spec:2] Protection; [spec:1] Holy
/usetalents 1
/usetalents 2

If your spec 1 is Prot and spec 2 is Holy, then depending on what spec you're using that macro will equip the other spec's set then switch your talents to that spec. The #showtooltip part from the first post doesn't seem to work.
I don't play WoW any more.
Donnan - Nangun - Kysen - Kysen - Mardun - Timkins

Mostly-Book Blog.
KysenMurrin
 
Posts: 6809
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 6:37 am
Location: UK

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby d503 » Wed May 20, 2009 7:20 pm

Just tried this and it works fine:

/equipset [spec:2] Avoidance/MT; Retardin
/usetalents [spec:2]1; 2;

Where 1 is my Prot spec, Avoidance/MT is that gear, 2 is my Ret spc, and Retardin is my Ret gear :/

#showtooltip doesn't seem to work with gear sets.

This macro can be placed on the bars for both your prot and ret, and will switch you to the opposite contextually.

Macro whizzes, feel free to make it better.

Generic version:

/equipset [spec:2] Spec1Gear; Spec2Gear
/usetalents [spec:2]1; 2;
User avatar
d503
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:31 pm
Location: Northern California, US

Re: 3.1 PTR Gear & Talent Switching Macro

Postby Aurelie » Sat May 23, 2009 12:29 am

I've taken to using Itemrack lately because Outfitter crashed my UI during raids (still haven't figured out what conflict was there...) and this is the macro I use to switch gear, specs and emote to those around me so they know when I switch. Protection is my primary spec (1), holy is my offspec (2).

Code: Select all
/itemrack toggle holy, prot normal
/script if (GetActiveTalentGroup()==1) then SendChatMessage("is now Holy.", "EMOTE") else SendChatMessage("is now Protection.", "EMOTE");end
/usetalents [spec:1] 2; [spec:2] 1


First line is my gearset, "holy" and "prot normal" while the second line is the emote portion. That can be changed to anything, like "is switching to Holy" etc. Third line is the actual spec change.
Image
User avatar
Aurelie
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:22 am
Location: Illidan

Next

Return to Add-ons, UI, and Macros

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Remove Advertisements

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 380 on Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:28 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest