Expertise: zero to hero

Warning: Theorycraft inside.

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, theckhd

Expertise: zero to hero

Postby Squishums » Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Before this patch i put almost zero value in expertise. 1 Parry per attack occasionally wasnt the end of the world.

Now however, paladins are parryable more often than any other tank, and they always come in convenient doubles (or quadruples!) perfect for getting parry gibbed. And as well of course, expertise boosts threat a bit more.

Im not sure I would ever actively gem expertise even now, but gear with it on will now catch my eye, whereas since early in TBC when I started playing a paladin it always just made me think of wasted stats. My token red gem for my meta is expertise now, Ive switched to the glyph of SOV, and as a human I will try to use a sword/mace.

What are your thoughts? Am I overreacting?

This is a very odd patch in that so many stats' values have been shaken up. Block value (and rating by association) dodge, parry, agility, expertise, and weapon procs like mongoose are all now much better or worse than they used to be. The only time I can remember this happening before was 3.0. And in that fewer stats were involved, and the gear changed with the stats, so it wasnt as abrupt.
Squishums

Re: Expertise: zero to hero

Postby Worldie » Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:43 pm

Unless i'm mistaken, the deflect on Hotr doesnt generate Parry haste, and the new SOV proc can't be dodge/parried.

Looking for confirms on this.
theckhd wrote:Fuck no, we've seen what you do to guilds. Just imagine what you could do to an entire country. Just visiting the US might be enough to make the southern states try to secede again.

halabar wrote:Noo.. you don't realize the problem. Worldie was to negative guild breaking energy like Bolvar is to the Scourge. If Worldie is removed, than someone must pick up that mantle, otherwise that negative guild breaking energy will run rampant, destroying all the servers.