No fair, WoW got an upgrade. I want one too!

Hardware, software, geek stuff

Moderators: laterna, Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, Sabindeus, PsiVen

No fair, WoW got an upgrade. I want one too!

Postby Levantine » Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:43 am

So I need to upgrade my PC. No doubt about it, but I can't really afford to do it all at once, thankfully my PSU and GPU are both still serviceable for a little while longer, so I can focus on the main issue. My archaic Core2Duo @ 1.86GHz. Basically it makes me want to slit my wrists with the horror of it, and while I'm sure I could overclock it a bit, I doubt it's worth the trouble. Anyway, I was looking around and I stumbled across this deal and was wondering if it was an alright buy?

Intel i5 760 + ASRock P55 Extreme4 + 4GB XMS3 DDR3 1600 > $535

From what I've heard, the 760 overclocks quite nicely, which I'd probably end up doing when I buy a decent cooling system (read: water, because where I live is dumb). I have no experience with ASRock though, all my mobo's have been FOXCONN or Gigabyte in the past. Also, this is AU$, and it wouldn't surprise me if people think it's obscenely expensive because Australia's pretty dumb like that.
Levantine

Re: No fair, WoW got an upgrade. I want one too!

Postby degre » Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:38 am

I think I've read you in the other thread saying you dont mind amd/intel, if that's the case I'll suggest going AMD and enjoying their new hex core, AMD Phenom x6 1055, same cost of the i5, same clock, 2 extra cores.
On EU-Kadghar: Degre | Beldegre | Degrotto | Koshien | Sousuke
degre

Postby Vrimmel » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:40 pm

In general i5 performs better than the amd processor for each Hz. Counting the number og Hz was outdated years ago. 6 cores? You rarely need that many. There aren't any games out there that can utilize more than 3, and I don't think wow uses more than 1 core.

Here is a nice hierarchy chart for CPUs. i5 760 is in top tier, while the 1055 is in the 3rd.