Remove Advertisements

Newb questions: Block Cap/Rating/Value

How to get started.

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, lythac

Newb questions: Block Cap/Rating/Value

Postby catophena » Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:05 pm

So I'm new to shield-based tanking, and Pally tanking specifically. I've tanked plenty on my Druid & DK (from Kara through ToGC), but decided to gear up my holy pally.

So, the only real new mechanic/stat I'm a bit confused on is Block. I read the following from the glossary here:
Block Cap - The point where additional Block Chance is pushed off the table. A paladin reaches this point against a raid boss when their chance to be missed+dodge+parry+block an attack adds up to 102.4. Formerly uncrushable.

Block Rating - Stat. Increases your chance to block an incoming attack.

Block Value - The amount of damage absorbed by your shield when an attack is blocked.

Can someone give me a simpleton's explanation for this? Help me with questions like:
What's more important - BR or BV?
How do they compare to Dodge or Parry (in terms of 'value')?
How easy is it to hit that magical 102.4%, and how important is block for that?
Are there some specific pieces of gear with block stuff on them that are 'must haves' or just really nice to have (like Defender's Code used to be for Druids)?
Anything else I should know about blocking?

Thanks for your help
catophena

Re: Newb questions: Block Cap/Rating/Value

Postby cerwillis » Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:29 pm

I can't get too in depth as I'm at work, but a few quick answers:

What's more important - BR or BV?