New to tanking, kicked for inexperience?

How to get started.

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, lythac

New to tanking, kicked for inexperience?

Postby Barfolamhew » Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:07 pm

Here is your first dumb question but something that seems to be killing me. I am invited into a group for a regular Instance IE. Blood Furnace and get kicked right away because I am new to Tanking. How exactly do you get better and learn if you don't get chances to run with more experienced players? This also comes up when people are checking gear. Run more instances get better gear right?
Barfolamhew

Re: New to tanking, kicked for inexperience?

Postby Arcand » Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:29 pm

If you got insta-kicked without them even giving you a chance, I'm thinking one of two things.

* You had some bad luck and found a group of dicks, which happens sometimes, or

* Your gear is weak enough that it's alarming even to reasonable people.

Would you mind putting up an armory link so we can rule out the second thing? Or at least describe your tank gear in general terms (crafted by your 80 armorsmith, bought greens in the AH, wearing your healing mail?).

Also, if you're really really new, it doesn't hurt to run some lowbie instances while you're learning. Take a group through Scarlet Monastery or whatever, just to get used to hitting the right keys and getting everything stuck onto you. Graduate to Zul'Farrak or Blackrock Depths, and then go for something level-appropriate once you have your moves down a little bit.

That way you're learning in a low-stress environment, you're building some confidence by clearing (admittedly easy) stuff, and you're a hero to some lowbies who might one day remember you. (It happens. I've done heroics with guys who whispered me to say that I probably don't remember but I ran them through an instance once fifty levels ago.)

Also...if you're getting upgrades to your gear in those lowbie instances, that's a danger sign. ;)
Arcand