Taunt miss chance, is the glyph really needed?

How to get started.

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, lythac

Taunt miss chance, is the glyph really needed?

Postby Victorfrogg » Wed Sep 09, 2009 2:37 am

Hi, this is kind of a noob question, but I couldn't find a post that actually tells me this information, so, here goes.

I am new to paladin tanking, and my guildie (who is also new to it) asked me if we needed the glyph for Righteous Defense. Apparently it has a miss chance of 9%. As such, I have two questions. 1) Does melee hit chance affect the hit chance of this taunt? 2)If so, is it viable to stack 9% hit chance and get a different glyph? Or am I better off using the Righteous Defense glyph?

Thanks in advance. ^.^
Victorfrogg

Re: Taunt miss chance, is the glyph really needed?

Postby baneoftruth » Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:34 am

Actually, taunts are still based on the spell hit table, giving them a base 17% chance to miss.

Hit rating is hit rating now. The only difference between melee hit and spell hit is that you get a little more spell hit per point of hit rating (I guess that's to make up for the higher percentage).

Bottom line...stacking hit rating is important, but mostly for threat purposes. Yes, the more hit you have, the greater chance you have of a successful taunt, but it would not be viable to stack 17% hit to prevent resisted taunts. If you are very concerned about missed taunts, then glyphing for Righteous Defense is really your only option. However, we do have two taunts off of the GCD, and if all else fails there's always Hand of Protection (unless you're doing a tank rotation, then HoP = BAD! lol).

Found another thread on this here and some interesting info here

TBH, I'm running with ~8.5% spell hit right now, no RD glyph, and I haven't run into a situation yet where a missed taunt caused a wipe or tank death.
baneoftruth

Postby Candiru » Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:46 am