Remove Advertisements

How NOT to pull as a prot pally

How to get started.

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, lythac

How NOT to pull as a prot pally

Postby Kellel » Mon Mar 02, 2009 11:04 am

Okay, so this is 1 part informative post, and 1 part rant .. but useful none the less.

As a long time prot pally that has been forced into both healing and dps'ing roles, I have had some pretty bad experiences with some pally tanks. So bad in fact that it changed my mind that once thought pally tanking was fool proof ;) haha.

I realize there are some excellent posts here that talk about the ideal pull, but I'm assuming that there is an abundance of tanks that haven't found it in that wall of text, so I'm going to give you a couple of what NOT to do's.

When you have a pack of 3+ mobs at 40 yards, do NOT use nothing more than your hand of reckoning and wait for them to run into your consecration. HoReckening is an awesome tool to pull single mobs, or chain pull more mobs every 6 seconds into your inevitable corpse pile ... it is NOT your primary pulling tool. Use your avenger shield please.

do NOT think of your consecrete as instant spikey aoe threat. consecration is NOT shockwave, and it's NOT thunderclap. Consecrete is a DoT and will help you slowly build threat and maintain threat but you need other tools in your tool box to establish threat. Hammer of the Righteous, Avenger shield, Shield of the Righteous and judgments .... Please don't run into a pack of mobs, lay down a consecrete ... wait .. then bitch at your healer for pulling aggro.