Remove Advertisements

Can I off-tank raids now?

How to get started.

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, lythac

Can I off-tank raids now?

Postby Italianblend » Sat Feb 07, 2009 5:13 am

I have zero raiding experience, but somebody that glanced at my gear told me I was probably ready to off-tank in a raid.

So if I may be a noob and ask:

Is my current gear good enough for off-tanking raids?

Also,

are there any sites where I can read up on general raiding 101 since I have never done it before, and specifically my role as an off-tank?

Thanks.
Italianblend

Postby Panzerdin » Sat Feb 07, 2009 5:20 am

You can maintank a bloody raid in that gear...

With regard to offtanking, the trick is just to tank what you're told to tank and make sure you've read the tactics (and understood them) beforehand.
Panzerdin

Location: On a picket line, protesting against the changes to Maintankadin

Postby Martie » Sat Feb 07, 2009 5:33 am

I offtanked naxx 10man in gear similar to that, so the answer is a definate yes.

You should be able to maintank most things as well, and please remember that for a lot of raid bosses, offtanking is harder (skillwise) then maintanking.

Take Kel'Thuzad for example. The main tank has to keep him in place and avoid his void zones. The off tank has to pick up the adds - coming from two different sides - really quickly, or clothies may get killed. That single moment of picking them up is harder then the entire fight for the main tank, since there is so little room for error.
I'm about to drop the hammer...
...and dispense some indiscriminate justice!

This is my armory profile
Martie

Postby Shoju » Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Yes you could off tank, or main tank pretty much anything. I don't know about malygos, as our tank was already decked to the max before we hit malygos.

One thing that I have noticed is that you have next to no enchants.