Remove Advertisements

WotLK install issues.

All things related to the expansion

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis

WotLK install issues.

Postby Fenira » Fri Nov 14, 2008 3:34 pm

I've been trying to install WotLK for the past couple days, called geek squad and all that, they said I need a new hard drive because my other one doesnt support WotLK. Has anyone else heard of this problem? They said that they have a Western Digital 500gb drive that would work with it? Apparently because Vista says: "C:\\Installer.exe": Module not found. Anyone have a solution they might have before I buy the new hard drive?
Image
User avatar
Fenira
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Ontario Canada

Postby fafhrd » Fri Nov 14, 2008 3:44 pm

a harddrive not supporting WoW sounds pretty dubious :S I'd think all a harddrive would need to do to "support" wow is be able to store data.
ImageImage
1/1 Lore pre-nerf.
User avatar
fafhrd
 
Posts: 5432
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 2:31 pm

Postby Flinsy » Fri Nov 14, 2008 3:50 pm

Have you tried saving wotlk in:
C:\Users\Public\Games?
User avatar
Flinsy
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:44 am

Postby Fenira » Fri Nov 14, 2008 3:50 pm

fafhrd wrote:a harddrive not supporting WoW sounds pretty dubious :S I'd think all a harddrive would need to do to "support" wow is be able to store data.


Well I'm just telling you what they told me, they didnt even look at my computer they took the case off and said its the drive
Image
User avatar
Fenira
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Ontario Canada

Postby cigar3tte » Fri Nov 14, 2008 3:57 pm

I guess their next move is to sell you a new OS plus installation fees.
User avatar
cigar3tte
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 10:18 am
Location: Houston, TX

Postby Flinsy » Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:07 pm

So your telling us that when you when into computer into the D: drive and pressed on the setup.exe it told you have vista can't find the C:\\installer.exe? Because there isn't an installer.exe in the C: directory. Can you tell use exactly what you did to try and install Wotlk please?
User avatar
Flinsy
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:44 am

Postby Fenira » Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:26 pm

Flinsy wrote:So your telling us that when you when into computer into the D: drive and pressed on the setup.exe it told you have vista can't find the C:\\installer.exe? Because there isn't an installer.exe in the C: directory. Can you tell use exactly what you did to try and install Wotlk please?

Yup, put my CD in the computer, and ran it.
Image
User avatar
Fenira
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Ontario Canada

Postby Flinsy » Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:32 pm

OK and its not running the installer at all? Because MPQ is a blizzard only library format, so its not a format incompatibility issue. So, you ran it and vista said it cant run the installer.exe? even when you went into the disc drive itself and double clicked it?

Were you able to play in 3.0? because its the same data basically.
User avatar
Flinsy
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:44 am

Postby Fenira » Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:34 pm

Flinsy wrote:OK and its not running the installer at all? Because MPQ is a blizzard only library format, so its not a format incompatibility issue. So, you ran it and vista said it cant run the installer.exe? even when you went into the disc drive itself and double clicked it?

Were you able to play in 3.0? because its the same data basically.

Yup, I'm allowed to play but installing it crashes.
Image
User avatar
Fenira
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Ontario Canada

Postby Frew » Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:51 pm

Happened to me too. Do you happen to have a Lite On drive?

Google search the wowinstaller.exe

Download Wrath that way. I had your same problem and that fixed it. Good luck!
Image Image
User avatar
Frew
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 8:09 am

Postby cigar3tte » Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:58 pm

User avatar
cigar3tte
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 10:18 am
Location: Houston, TX

Postby cigar3tte » Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:59 pm

User avatar
cigar3tte
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 10:18 am
Location: Houston, TX

Postby Fenira » Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:02 pm

Dariin wrote:Happened to me too. Do you happen to have a Lite On drive?

Google search the wowinstaller.exe

Download Wrath that way. I had your same problem and that fixed it. Good luck!

Thank you, I'll try that.
Image
User avatar
Fenira
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Ontario Canada

Postby guillex » Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:56 am

TURN OFF ANY ANTI-VIRUSES YOU MIGHT HAVE RUNNING.




McAfee's on-access scan was killing my install. Turned it off, no problems.
Póg mo thóin
Image
User avatar
guillex
Moderator
 
Posts: 7490
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:32 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Postby Khisvir » Sat Nov 15, 2008 2:28 pm

Guillex wrote:McAfee's on-access scan was killing my install. Turned it off, no problems.


You use McAfee?

-1000 respect points...

I installed McAfee on my last computer, and had NOTHING but trouble. Programs hanging, freezing on startup...and got tagged by 3 viruses before I had enough and removed it.

Switched to NOD32, and haven't had a problem since.
Space for rent - reasonable rates
User avatar
Khisvir
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Next

Return to WotLK

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Remove Advertisements

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 380 on Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:28 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest