Remove Advertisements

Worst FPS Lag when Aoe tanking :)

Anything, including off-topic posts

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, Sabindeus, PsiVen

Re: Worst FPS Lag when Aoe tanking :)

Postby ack » Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:13 pm

Bluejam wrote:Inspired to post this after clearing heroic MgT.

Those mana wyrms before Vexallus. Just aggro the whole room, and aoe to death. But if you're like most folks, and carry a mage (or two), that aoe madness gets uber graphic. And i thought I upgraded my system.


Yeah, that part used to bring down to FPS to a stutter, but it turned out to be something caused by both Recount and Omen2. Speaking of Omen2, does it even work anymore? Not to mention a hassle when it needs to be updated every hour it seems like.
Ackini of Paragon, Frostmane.
User avatar
ack
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 1:03 pm

Postby Reiyuka » Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:29 pm

Incidentally type /omen - there's a compatibility checker with eveyrone in the raid.

And tell people not to download it off frigging curse, use files.wowace.com.

I imagine omen will settle down after a week or so, they seem to be changing the protocol around.
User avatar
Reiyuka
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 10:00 pm

Postby Shirak » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 pm

WoW, MrT wrym room seems to be a common FPS killer. Mine acually droped to 25 with two mages and a warlock AOEing in my consecrate. Freaked me out, I've never seen it that low... :shock:
Tuberon wrote:Tanking *is* crowd control.

You run into a crowd, and proceed to control it.
User avatar
Shirak
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:29 am

Postby degre » Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:45 pm

Lucky you guys...

In that room my pc machine drops to 1 frame every once in a while...
User avatar
degre
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:11 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Postby Sarutankah » Thu Apr 03, 2008 6:50 pm

I've only got a q6600 and an 8800gt (all @ stock cos my mobo hates quads) - had some lag/fps drop issues when pulling lotsa dragons in ST (not high enough for MT yet :P) but dropping AA from 8x to 4x seemed to remedy the issue. :lol:
I'm only on a 19" widescreen though.
Sarutankah
 
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:44 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postby degre » Thu Apr 03, 2008 6:55 pm

Sarutankah wrote:I'm only on a 19" widescreen though.


This doesn't matter.
User avatar
degre
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:11 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Postby lusisia » Thu Apr 03, 2008 8:26 pm

degre wrote:
Sarutankah wrote:I'm only on a 19" widescreen though.


This doesn't matter.


It does when you run at 1400x900 vs. 1280x1024. The resolution absolutely affects performance.
"then somehow people manage not to see the forty fucking foot tall of fucking fiery flames of fucking doom ... and we wipe." - Isolfr
"It turns out that a large number of people are whiny motherfuckers ..." - PsiVen
User avatar
lusisia
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA. US

Postby degre » Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:46 pm

And since when resolution is dependant to the screen size?
User avatar
degre
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:11 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Postby Canuun » Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:07 pm

I basically DC pulling that room. I pop a consecrate with a trinket on, and hope to come back alive and with my group still up. I see nothing from the time i hit consecrate until everything dies. Haven't died yet, but this room makes me scared to heal the instance.
Image
Canuun
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:20 pm

Postby mazater » Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:08 am

The AoE packs before Solarian, and Solarian's adds make my PC pray for mercy. :(
User avatar
mazater
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:40 am
Location: Winland

Postby Questioner » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:42 am

degre wrote:And since when resolution is dependant to the screen size?


Since always, because larger screens generally support larger resolutions, and you should be running at your LCDs native resolution to get the best performance.
<3 Tankadin at Heart.

Not necessarily accurate: Armory
User avatar
Questioner
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:17 pm
Location: US Gorgonnash, Elis Guild

Postby Questioner » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:43 am

Something has been weird for me since 2.4. There has been some bad stuttering, ike a slight pause every 8 seconds or so, and it gets worse whenever we aoe. Last night in BT it actually caused 2 of us to crash to desktop.
<3 Tankadin at Heart.

Not necessarily accurate: Armory
User avatar
Questioner
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:17 pm
Location: US Gorgonnash, Elis Guild

Postby lusisia » Fri Apr 04, 2008 9:47 am

degre wrote:And since when resolution is dependant to the screen size?


Touche ;)
"then somehow people manage not to see the forty fucking foot tall of fucking fiery flames of fucking doom ... and we wipe." - Isolfr
"It turns out that a large number of people are whiny motherfuckers ..." - PsiVen
User avatar
lusisia
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA. US

Postby Mekanikos » Fri Apr 04, 2008 11:34 am

I actually disconnected while tanking all of the worms in MGT. First time I've ever been disconnected for tanking that number of mobs, and I usually clear SFK and SM Cath in two pulls.

:( I think either Omen 2 or the new combat logging system has something to do with this.
Image
Mekanikos
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 7:36 am

Previous

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Remove Advertisements

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 380 on Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:28 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
?php } else { ?