Remove Advertisements

New-ish Player Looking to Start Raiding

Anything, including off-topic posts

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, Sabindeus, PsiVen

New-ish Player Looking to Start Raiding

Postby Wonton » Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:03 pm

First off, I'm really new to the game (started in July), and this tank is my first character. Meaning, I've NEVER done a raid before. However, I have almost all the non-VP gear I can get without raids (still working on TB trinket, maybe King of Boars, and maybe some BoEs from the AH), and ZA/ZG are starting to get boring and easy.

So:

1) What are the new things I have to know for a raid? How many tanks are in a 10 man? How does tanking work when there's more than one of us?
2) I'm in a tiny guild that doesn't have enough people for a 10 man. Should I just try responding to "LFM need tank"?
3) Which raids should I start on?

Armory in case you want to gear check: http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/k ... m/advanced
Gems... gems are truly outrageous.
Wonton

Re: New-ish Player Looking to Start Raiding

Postby Nikachelle » Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:09 pm

Any youtube guides are helpful to read before you go into a fight. Make sure you know exactly what's going on, or at least have a solid idea of what's expected of you. You can also read www.icy-veins.com for boss strats. There are generally two tanks for 10 man raids. It's pretty much required that one tank will need a dps offspec. So you either need one or your co-tank will need one.

I was going to say start with Baradin Hold, but nobody does Argaloth anymore, and he was fairly straightforward. Not sure I'd recommend starting with Occu'thar as pugs can get verrrryyy touchy if that tank doesn't know what they're doing. So you'll probably just want to start with T11 runs - Blackwing Descent and Bastion of Twilight. But like I said before, look up boss strats and make sure you have an idea of the fight before trying to execute it yourself.
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor