Home networking question

Invisusira's playground

Moderators: Aergis, Invisusira

Home networking question

Postby Invisusira » Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:54 pm

While I'm knowledgeable enough to usually get stuff running fine, networks have never been my... strong point.

I'm trying to get the 360 and PS3 connected via the same cable; aka I don't want to thread ANOTHER ethernet cable through the apartment but am tiring of going behind the systems and swapping back and forth. Right now the setups is:

Code: Select all
DSL Modem w/ Built in Router
      |      |      |
      V      V      V
     Mac     PC     TV


I tried to do this:

Code: Select all
DSL Modem w/ Built in Router
      |      |      |
      V      V      V
     Mac     PC    Hub
                   | |
                   V V
                 PS3 360

But it just laughed at me and didn't connect to the internet. (internets -> WAN port; xbawks and ps connected to hub ports.) Should that work or no? The hub is old and may just be busted or something (LEDs work tho). I also have a router I could put there, but have no idea what the "yo dawg I heard you like routers so I put a router in your router" rules are and, seeing as they're connected to the same TV, I'm not concerned about them both using internets at the same time.

So, helps plox kthx
User avatar
Invisusira
Moderator
 
Posts: 9021
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 6:23 pm
Location: alt-tabbed

Re: Home networking question

Postby Fivelives » Wed Jan 19, 2011 7:18 pm

Stupid question, but most hubs have one "in" port and 4-8 "out" ports. Are you plugging your patch cable into the right one? It should be labeled on the back.
- I'm not Jesus, but I can turn water into Kool-Aid.
- A Sergeant in motion outranks an officer who doesn't know what the hell is going on.
- A demolitions specialist at a flat run outranks everybody.
User avatar
Fivelives
 
Posts: 3110
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 7:55 pm

Re: Home networking question

Postby fuzzygeek » Wed Jan 19, 2011 8:27 pm

Your diagram should work; make sure the line from the router to the hub is plugged into the hub's "uplink" port (on older routers it's usually an additional port at the end; you can't use, say, Port 8 and the Uplink port at the same time).

You can also put the Spare Router in place of the hub; plug the line from the DSL router into the Spare Router's "WAN" port (or "Internet" port, as it's sometimes labeled). You might have to configure the Spare Router to not use the same subnet as your existing DSL router.
Image
User avatar
fuzzygeek
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:58 pm

Re: Home networking question

Postby Punkss2 » Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:33 am

Do you have the specs for the Hub ie brand and model number? Is the Modem/router set up anyway in particular i.e. MAC filter, etc?
Thinking of starting WOW again....
User avatar
Punkss2
 
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:55 pm
Location: The Space Olympics

Re: Home networking question

Postby Nikachelle » Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:59 am

The DSL modem is actually working as the "hub" itself. It has four "out" slots, but we don't want to use the fouth out slot for the other video game console because it'll mean ANOTHER really long cord snaking through the apartment. We'd like to put a box behind the TV and have it splice out to both consoles from there.
User avatar
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 11003
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Home networking question

Postby Invisusira » Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:00 am

It's an SMC SMC7004VBR Barricade... and is apparently actually a router. Hm.

THE PLOT THICKENS?
User avatar
Invisusira
Moderator
 
Posts: 9021
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 6:23 pm
Location: alt-tabbed

Re: Home networking question

Postby Invisusira » Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:02 am

yes thank you dear I already said all that in the first post

Image
User avatar
Invisusira
Moderator
 
Posts: 9021
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 6:23 pm
Location: alt-tabbed

Re: Home networking question

Postby Nikachelle » Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:05 am

Invisusira wrote:yes thank you dear I already said all that in the first post

Image

:|

Wait. What. You're using the SMC router? Oh my lord, I didn't know you'd dug that thing up from under the bed. Throw it out. That thing is a fucking waste of space.
User avatar
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 11003
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Home networking question

Postby Invisusira » Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:26 am

Ok, trying the D-Link now, and since it IS a router, just bypassing the WAN port and plugging everything into LAN ports. Seems to work!
User avatar
Invisusira
Moderator
 
Posts: 9021
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 6:23 pm
Location: alt-tabbed

Re: Home networking question

Postby Krazed » Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:30 am

The dual router is getting all pissy. Link below might help might not, or just go buy a switch.

http://www.togaware.com/linux/survivor/ ... outer.html

Curious in how he found it under the bed next to velociraptor oriented things.
Through nature's inflexible grace I'm learning to live - Dream Theater
User avatar
Krazed
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:53 am

Re: Home networking question

Postby lythac » Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:45 am

Krazed wrote:Curious in how he found it under the bed next to velociraptor oriented things.


Where does one keep their velociraptor suit if not under the bed?

(with moth balls)
Last edited by lythac on Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ryshad / Lythac of <Heretic> Nagrand-EU
User avatar
lythac
Moderator
 
Posts: 2694
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:10 am

Re: Home networking question

Postby Nikachelle » Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:46 am

Krazed wrote:Curious in how he found it under the bed next to velociraptor oriented things.

You actually really need "stalker" tattooed on your forehead.
User avatar
Nikachelle
Maintankadonor
 
Posts: 11003
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Home networking question

Postby Krazed » Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:20 am

Nikachelle wrote:
Krazed wrote:Curious in how he found it under the bed next to velociraptor oriented things.

You actually really need "stalker" tattooed on your forehead.


OR just give a portion to my check over to a "package" store, but I doubt it will fit on my forehead next considering A$$hole is already on there.
Through nature's inflexible grace I'm learning to live - Dream Theater
User avatar
Krazed
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:53 am

Re: Home networking question

Postby Vanifae » Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:44 am

Isn't the PS3 wireless?

I have both my Xbox and PS3 on the wireless and everything works just fine, I don't do much online gaming with them but video streaming over the internet or network is A-OK.
This is why I'm a humorless feminist. Because rape jokes killed my sense of humor.
Minnerva wrote:if you act like a jerk then we push you away unless when born the girl got slapped around by her father.
User avatar
Vanifae
 
Posts: 7123
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 12:36 am

Re: Home networking question

Postby Invisusira » Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:50 am

gaming?

on wireless internet?

Image
User avatar
Invisusira
Moderator
 
Posts: 9021
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 6:23 pm
Location: alt-tabbed

Next

Return to Arkham Asylum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 380 on Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:28 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest