Noob needs advice/criticism on his two talent specs

How to get started.

Moderators: Fridmarr, Worldie, Aergis, lythac

Noob needs advice/criticism on his two talent specs

Postby Artagel » Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:57 am

This character, my first, is a Paladin.

************** First Spec: Holy *******************************************

One spec is a straight-forward Cleric (Holy) and is intended to be used only in groups. I'm not sure if I need to explain further - and I probably can't explain it well if I tried :roll: .

The link to the holy spec-tree is here: http://www.wowarmory.com/talent-calc.xm ... 0000000000

************** Second Spec: Retribution/Protection *************************

The other spec, however, is a hybrid between Retribution and Protection. It is meant to be used either in solo or in groups. Yes, I wanted it both ways: to be able to deal massive damage as a DPS and to be able to tank effectively. Considering I have little experience in Wow, I don't know if this is viable, particularly when (and if) I reach level 80.

The link to the Retribution/Protection spec-tree is here: http://www.wowarmory.com/talent-calc.xm ... 2130201300

From the advice I've gotten from my guildmates, this spec-tree is much more questionable than the first and, thus, warrants my best attempt at an explaination/elaboration:

First, the context and the goal: I'm playing on the RPPvP server Ravenholdt. Hence, the purpose of this Ret/Prot spec is not simply DPS or Tank in an instance, but to "succeed and survive in the overall atmosphere of the realm", whether it be soloing, grouping, arena, BG or getting jumped on by Horde players.

Perhaps what I'm asking is not possible; perhaps an acceptable balance can't be struck; I don't know but that's why I'm asking the experts here:

Is this the best solution for what I'm trying to accomplish?

Might there be a better way in your opinion?